The Club History

In 1927 Mr Harry Waters
, the proprietor of Christchurch Cinemas, addressed the problem that his staff were denied the opportunity to enjoy their sporting interests due to their Saturday work. He approached Miss White (of A J White Ltd) to lease 1.0947ha of rough pasture, with the intention of clearing and draining the land and converting it into a small cricket ground for the use of his staff on Sundays. He then formed the Christchurch Cinemas Cricket Club, the ground was known as the Valley of Peace cricket ground.

From the outset, the size of the ground necessitated variations to the rules of cricket. Fours and sixes are signalled in the traditional manner, but recorded in the scorebook as twos and fours. However the most important aspects of cricket remains sacrosanct – the players wear white, and the spirit of honesty and friendship must be observed and maintained at all times.

In 1955 Mr Waters sold his business and the Valley of Peace Cricket Club Inc. was formed on 15 December 1955. The land was purchased from the then owner Cdr. Beauchamp, and freeholded by the Club.

The Club has traditionally adopted a conservative approach to its fixtures, but this has not inhibited its reputation throughout the cricketing world. Two notable artists, Arthur Mailey and Austen Deans have painted the ground. Mailey’s original hangs at Lords, and the Deans’ original was gifted to the Club by the artist.

For many years in the past women were not welcome on the ground when a match was being played. The small boundaries contributed to a danger for spectators who were unaccustomed to hard hit cricket balls. While the danger still exists, women who are prepared to accept the risk are now welcome to enjoy their experience at the Valley. Because of the risk of injury, children under the age of twelve are not welcome when a match is being played.

The Club prides itself in the fact that it has provided uninterrupted cricket for members and other local cricketers since 1928, and hosted many teams from throughout New Zealand, Australia, the United Kingdom, and the West Indies.

[ Historical Club images can be viewed on the Galleries page ]

Life Members –

J R Waters
J Z Harris
O C Jones
D J McKendry
D V Hearn
D S Banks
C L Sugden

Past Presidents –

H Waters
J R Waters
D S Banks
B N Bailey


The Valley Of Peace Cricket Club - Austen Deans

The Valley Of Peace Cricket Club – Austen Deans